skip to Main Content

1000 & 2000 Guineas Betting Offers 2019

guineasThe 1000 and 2000 Guineas at Newmarket still stand as two of the oldest and most prestigious flat races in the UK. These races are the first two of the 5 ‘classic’ races during the flat season, both races are over 200 years old and represent the first major test of the season for three-year-old thoroughbreds. Although the flat season starts three weeks prior to the Guineas many still see these races as a marker for the beginning of the season and an early benchmark for the year’s top nags.

The races are so named because of the initial prize money provided for winning the race being 1000 and 2000 Guineas (1 Guinea is 21 shilling or £1.05 in modern money). This was a huge amount of money in the early 1800’s but compared to today’s prize money of nearly £500,000 in both races it is small change. As one of the classics expect some cracking bookmaker offers for new and existing customers. We will cover the best value deals on this page. Further down you will also find details of the races, history and more.

1000 & 2000 Guineas Betting Offers

New Customer

New Customers Only, T&C’s Apply, 18+,

All Customer

Newmarket Guineas Festival Schedule 2019

2000 Guineas Day – Saturday 4th May 2019

Time Race Grade Distance
1:50 Spring Lodge Stakes  Handicap – Class 2 1m 1f
2:20 Longholes Palace House Stakes  Group 3 5f
2:55 Dunaden Jockey Club Stakes  Group 2 1m 4f
3:35 QIPCO 2000 Guineas  Group 1 1m
4:10 Hot Streak Handicap  Handicap, Class 2 6f
4:45 Havana Gold Newmarket Stakes  Listed, Class 1 1m 2f
5:20 QIPCO Racing Welfare Handicap  Handicap, Class 2 1m

KEY: m – Miles, f – furlong(s), y – yards

1000 Guineas Day – Sunday 5th May 2019

Time Race Grade Distance
1:50 QIPCO Racing Handicap Stakes  Handicap, Class 2 1m 4f
2:20 Charm Spirit Dahlia Stakes  Group 2 1m 1f
2:55 Handicap  Handicap, Class 2 6f
3:35 QIPCO 1000 Guineas  Group 1 1m
4:10 Havana Gold Maiden Stakes  Plus 10 5f
4:45 Tweenhills Pretty Polly Stakes  Listed, Class 1 1m 2f
5:20 QIPCO Handicap  Handicap, Class 3 1m 2f

KEY: m – Miles, f – furlong(s), y – yards

About the 2000 Guineas

horses approaching the winning postMistakenly many people believe the 1000 Guineas to be the first race of the two classics but this is not true.  The 2000 Guineas in fact pre-dates the 1000 Guineas by 5 years, first run all the way back in 1809.

The 2000 Guineas is the first of the five British classic flat races and is run in late April or early May each year on or around the bank holiday weekend.  The race is open to three-year-old colts (male under 4) and fillies (female under 4) and is run over a distance of 1 mile (1609m / 8 furlongs), the race is also the first of the triple crown including the Epsom Derby and St Leger.  The race is run on the Rowley Mile, a straight track that goes back to the time when Newmarket was in fact two courses (see Newmarket history).

The 2000 Guineas was established in 1809 through the Jockey Club directed by Sir Charles Banbury who had previously founded Derby, another classic race.  The race was named based on the prize fund for winning, at the time this was 2000 Guineas equal to around £2100 in modern money.

The race grew in prestige over the next 50 years and by the middle of the 1860s was regarded as one of the five best races for this age group, hence the 5 British classics.  Initially, as is suggested by name, the 2000 guineas carried a large prize fund than the 1000 Guineas however since the turn of the millennium the prize pools have been roughly equal.  Currently this stands at around £500,000 with over £283,000 for first place.

The 2000 Guineas has a series of trail races that define the final field, for example the Craven Stakes, a group 3 race held at Newmarket in April.  The 2000 Guineas race itself in fact serves as a trail race for the Espom Derby.

2000 Guineas Records:

  • Top Jockey: Jem Robinson – 9 wins (1825, 1828, 1831, 1833-36, 1847-48)
  • Top Trainer: Aidan O’Brien – 9 wins (1998, 2000, 2005, 2006, 2008, 2012, 2015, 2017, 2018)
  • Top Owner: Sue Maginer – 10 wins (1997, 1998, 2002, 2005, 2006, 2008, 2012, 2015, 2017, 2018)
  • Fastest Time: Mister Baileys in 1994 (1m 35s)
  • Biggest Margin: Tudor Minstrel in 1947 – won by 8 lengths
  • Odds: Longest – Rockavon (66/1 in 1961), Shortest – St Frusquin (12/100 in 1896)
  • Biggest Field: 28 runners 1930
  • 2018 Winner: Saxon in 1 minute 36 seconds ridden by Donnacha O’Brien, trained by Aidan O’Brien owned by Magnier, Smith, Tabor.

About the 1000 Guineas

flat racecourseA virtually identical race to the 2000 Guineas except that this race is restricted to three-year-old fillies only.  It is run on exactly the same course and over the same distance as it older namesake, 1 mile at Newmarket, the day after.  This represents the second of the five British classics and also the first leg of the fillies triple crown that also includes the Oaks and St Leger.

The 1000 Guineas was also established by Charles Banbury and the Jockey Club five years later than the older 2000 Guineas in 1814.   Despite prize money or this race being less for 185 years since 2000 the prize funds for both races have been very similar.  In fact, in recent years the money available for the 1000 Guineas exceeds that of the 2000 Guineas.  The prize fund is around £540,000 with about £310,000 for the winner.

The 1000 Guineas is also fed by trail races including the Fred Darling Stakes and Nell Gwyn Stakes, both run at Newmarket in April.

1000 Guineas Records:

  • Top Jockey: George Fordham – 7 wins (1859, 1861, 1865, 1868, 1869, 1881 and 1883)
  • Top Trainer: Robert Robson – 9 wins (1818-23, 1825-27)
  • Top Owner: Duke of Grafton – 8 wins (1819-23, 1825-27)
  • Fastest Time: Ghanatti in 2009 (1m 34s)
  • Biggest Margin: Mayonaise in 1859 – won by 20 lengths
  • Odds: Longest – Ferry (50/1 in 1898), Shortest – Crucifix (1/10 in 1840)
  • Biggest Field: 29 runners 1926
  • 2018 Winner: Billesdon Brook in 1 minute 36 seconds, ridden by Sean Levey, trained by Richard Hannon Jr., owned by Pall Mall Partners.

About Newmarket Racecourse

newmarket raccourse first spring meeting 1793 stampNewmarket itself is a historic market town and no market town is complete without a traditional British racecourse.  Being in Suffolk, a very level part of South East England, this is a flat racecourse.

The history of the racecourse goes back to the mid-1700’s where King Charles II and future king James II were known to attend races.  At this time the two big races were the ‘Kings Plate’ and the ‘Town Plate’ worth around 50 Guineas each.  Over the years other plates and races were added and by 1770 there were 7 major meetings a year.

Originally Newmarket was in fact two courses, named the Rowley Mile and the July Course.  The Rowley mile is actually 1 mile and 2 furlongs (~2km) long and although it contains a couple of slight undulations is pretty much straight.  The last 400 meters consist of 200m downhill followed by 200m uphill creating the characteristic dip, this is the course on which both Guineas races are run.  The Rowley mile is also used by light aircraft that land along a grass strip beside the course, formerly the RAF used this strip when it was RAF Newmarket in the second world war.

The July course is used, as the name suggests, for summer meetings in July.  This also has a one-mile-long straight referred to as the Bunbury Mile, it is characterised by a long gradual downhill slope with an uphill final 8th of a mile.

Back To Top